A Mother’s Prayer

One of the reasons I started this blog is because I love reading them.  My favorite thing to do late at night is jump from one blog roll to another, finding new blogs about life, humor, parenthood, et cetera to add to my “collection.”  I don’t usually interact with these blogs (although I know the authors would love it if more people did — I know I would!  ::hint, hint::); mostly, I skulk.  One of the blogs I enjoy reading is Letters from Crazyville . She turned me onto another blog, Momma’s Pixie Dreams. The author of this blog recently found out that her youngest, Monkey, is very sick, so her blogger friends have really rallied around her to offer support and prayers. One such blog is The Daily Dose of Reality. Monday’s post at TDDoR was in honor of Momma’s Pixie Dreams and her daughter. In response, I’ve posted the button from that post and have answered the “Monday Minute” questions as today’s post. Please send up a prayer for Monkey and visit these awesome blogs to show your support.

Photobucket


1 – How old do you act?

Well…it really depends on the situation, but I’ve usually been told that I act older than my actual age.  I would say that I act 32-ish for the most part; although, if I’m with friends at a Bon Jovi concert, I probably act more like I’m 13.

2 – As far back as you can remember, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I can remember always wanting to be a teacher or a veterinarian.   I gave up the vet dream because I realized it might sometimes include blood and slicing poor kittens open.  So I became a teacher.  Who knew it might sometimes include blood and slicing poor kittens open?

3 – If you were to write a book based on your life, what would the title be?

…And Then They Were One: A look at one woman and her relationship with God

4 – What’s something that you do that’s considered “childish” by most?

Daydream.  I love to daydream.  As a child/teenager, I would daydream all the time.  It’s really a wonder I graduated from high school because I was never paying attention.  I was always off in my head.  There I was a famous country singer, an Oscar-winning actress, or the cute, popular boy’s girlfriend.  I don’t get to daydream as much now — lack of time and the realization that time is running out for these daydreams to come true — but I still enjoy it.

5 – The last question isn’t a question. Write a story of a time of when you or someone you know overcame great adversity.

My nephew spent his 1st birthday in the hospital.  I was still a pre-teen at the time, but I still remember it vividly.  At first, they weren’t quite sure what his problem was, so he spent some time in the hospital while they figured it out.  For some reason, he couldn’t have an IV in his arm, so they put it in his head.   He looked miserable.  My sister (his mother) was only 19 at the time, but I don’t remember seeing her cry or lose control.  She stayed strong the whole time and was the reason her family came out of that intact.  My nephew is a teenager now, but she’s still the backbone of her family.  They couldn’t make it through without her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

