Daily Archives: May 13, 2010

Skim, 2%, Whole…38DD?

I love hidden camera shows, and my favorite is ABC’s What Would You Do? This started as a segment on Primetime, but it was so popular, it quickly grew.  (You can view old segments on YouTube.)  Tomorrow’s episode hits on a topic that is very close to home: breastfeeding.  In tomorrow’s episode, ABC staged a scene in a cafe of a woman breastfeeding.  The woman is then approached by the manager who asks her to leave and starts a big scene about it.  What will the bystanders do?   What would you do?

I’m eager to see the responses because I had an incident myself regarding breastfeeding.  On Mother’s Day weekend, I went out to eat with my mother and one of my younger sisters.   As they began to eat, I placed Squirmy in my lap, covered us with my nursing cover, lifted my shirt, and began to feed him.  He was quietly eating, and I was talking with my family.  After a few moments, I began to realize that the couple and their teenage son sitting at the table beside us were staring.  I turned to meet their eyes, but they all quickly looked away.  The wife began to whisper to her husband about how “disgusting” it was and how they couldn’t believe I’d “do that in a restaurant.”

The old Rachel would’ve turned to them and said something nasty and rude; however, the saved Rachel just sat quietly and ignored them.  What should I have done or said?  In my state it is perfectly legal for me to breastfeed my child wherever I am.  Should I have explained this law to them?  Sound off in the comments — Do you have a great comeback?  Do you even agree with breastfeeding in public?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized