Independence Day Already?

(WARNING: You may think I’m weird after reading this post.)

(DISCLAIMER: I am.)

I know it’s a little late in the month to be discussing Independence Day, but I fear Squirmy’s is right around the corner.  He was in the other room asleep (thank you, Elizabeth Pantley) and woke up, crying out.  Ever the dutiful mom, I rushed into the bedroom to save the day.  As I lay beside him, rubbing his back and shushing him back to sleep, he pulled away and flung himself on his back.  That’s when it hit me.  When he was just a wee baby, he would stay curled up to me, his face against the bare skin of my chest.  Now he’s flinging himself away.  I realized that he is already becoming independent.  I started to reflect on Squirmy over the past few weeks and saw that it had started earlier than tonight.  We started him on cereal a couple of weeks ago, and he wants to hold the spoon as you feed him.  He is capable of entertaining himself in the playpen, and he no longer needs me to pick up his pacifier when he drops it.  He brings it to his mouth and chews on it.  It’ll only be a matter of minutes, so it seems, until he figures out the right way to pop it back in his mouth.  Before I know it, he’ll be walking, going to school, driving, and having kids of his own.  It was at this time that a very weird thought came into my head.

I know some mothers will understand and others will say I’m crazy, but either way — I want to curl him up and put him back in my belly.  Yes, I know it’s uber-controlling and slightly odd, but that’s the sensation I had.  He was so safe in there and I could take him anywhere — to work, on vacation, to the bathroom…

::sigh::

I miss my baby already.  I’m sure I can talk more on this subject, but now I have to go cuddle with the World’s Cutest Baby.  Excuse me…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

