RE/MAX, please stop…

I have discussed issues I am working through on this blog before. It’s time for another discussion. Today I am struggling with envy. Envy. Even the word sounds slightly sensual, like something that makes you feel good, but you know you should stay away from. Envy. I’m a fairly new Christian, but I’m not a stupid Christian and I know envy is a no-no. Yet…here it is…envy. ::sigh::

Do you own a home? Do you enjoy it? If so, you have my envy.


First off — backstory. I do have a house, but we rent. It’s not a bad house. It has plenty of room, in the country (but close to town), a bedroom for everyone, and a big yard for the dogs. In all respects, I’m very fortunate. However, there is something to be said for owning your own home. I understand the disadvantages, but I’m not thinking about those right now. I’m thinking about installing bookcases, painting walls without the back-of-the-mind thought of painting them white again, planting flower beds, putting down new flooring, building a deck, et cetera. I read “This Old House” magazine and “Better Homes and Gardens” and the little projects call to me. I want to reorganize my mudroom or turn a back deck into a sleeping porch. Alas, these things all elude me.
The Bible says that envy is one of the faults of the flesh and those that partake in it will not inherit the Kingdom of God (Galatians 5:19-21). This is not acceptable. My main objective in life is to end up in His Kingdom by sharing the Gospel and living by his commandments. So, how do I expel envy? Well, it seems as though I continue to strive to seek His face. I pray everyday, I read His Word, and I seek solace in His faithfulness to me.   I’m not perfect and don’t ever expect to be, but I know this is how one overcomes obstacles.   The obstacle of the day being envy.  And, in Jesus’ name, I shall overcome!

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. — 1 Corinthians 10:13

P.S. Feel free to make me feel good, however.  What are the disadvantages to owning a home?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “RE/MAX, please stop…

  1. cynthia

    It is hard to be patient but this too shall come. God knows the desires of your heart and his answers are yes and amen, just wait on his timing for his timing is always right

  2. Nina

    The hardships of owning your own home. The yearly house insurance that costs you an arm and a leg, but you cannot live without it. The property taxes that call out to you in the spring and the fall, without fail, whether you have the money or not, they demand to be paid, or your home you will lose. True the monthly mortage payment might be less than the rent that you pay each month, but after you figure in the insurance and the property taxes, and the maintenance that goes with owning a house, (I have not even gone there yet) the rent you pay each month is probably cheaper than what I pay in the long run.
    Maintenance- You never know when anything will break down, from the water heater to the furnace to the central air. The toilet might leak, the water run forever, without you catching it, the water company does not care that you have not fixed that leak yet. Or the leak that you did not even know you had under your house, until the water company informs you that your bill is over 300 dollars and they still want paid.
    The tile does break and leaves a hole in the floor, the walls sometimes crack, no money to fix, I will hang a picture there instead.
    The roof shingles are coming off, the roof leaks into the room, but I just grab a pail and a pan, for the new roof costs more than the time it takes me to empty out my pail and pan. Maybe next year!
    Winterization, windows need to be sealed, just to remove in the spring so you can open back up the windows, oh please such a bother, says the Man of the house, it will be just fine. Fine is another matter when the gas bill arrives!
    The gas man tells me you need to insulate your attic you are losing a lot of your heat through your roof, that would be just fine and dandy if I had that kind of dough, so no I just suffer and dish out money to the gas company because it is easier to find the extra money to pay for the gas each month than to pay a large price for insulation right now.
    So instead of sitting there wishing and dreaming, sit on my side of the fence, where I am wishing and dreaming that I only rented instead of doing all this not once but three times!
    Count your blessings, because there is always someone who has it worse than you!

Leave a Reply

